All about that turkey burger life

You know you need a hobby when getting a barbecue has been one of the highlights of your summer, but seriously..I’m stoked. I have been on a barbecuing spree lately and I love it, mainly because of how time saving it is but also because everything tastes better than on my stovetop (no offense stovetop.) Ever since my gallbladder incident and learning that my kidney is fatty, I’ve had to cut back on high fat foods, which had led to turkey becoming my main source of animal protein. Don’t get me wrong, ground turkey is good and all but sometimes the taste can be a little bland to me so I like to add a few spices every now and then. These turkey burgers are so easy it’s kind of silly that I’m even posting a recipe for them but clearly it’s not stopping me. Let me know how you guys jazz up your low-fat meals, I could definitely use some new recipes to try. 

Protein Style Turkey Burgers

Ingredients

  • Ground turkey
  • Lite Cheddar Cheese (mine is from trader joes)
  • Garlic powder
  • Black truffle salt (not necessary but oh so delicious)
  • Lettuce
  • Condiments

After ground turkey is taken out of the packaging, add a pinch of black truffle salt directly to the meat followed by a few shakes of the garlic powder (the amount depends on how strong you like garlic taste.) Form meat into patties and either cook on barbecue or with a little olive oil on your stovetop. Top with the Lite Cheddar and place on a bed of lettuce with condiments of your choice. I sided with sweet potato chips this time and it went really well with the burgers. Overall this is such a quick and delicious dinner, perfect for busy week nights.

  

2 thoughts on “All about that turkey burger life

Leave a Reply

