Low fat dinner, happy tastebuds

Happy Monday everyone, I hope it’s not toooo bad! Over the weekend I surprised myself by making some things that were very low in fat and my husband actually liked..I know, hold for applause. I made a reduced guilt taco salad (minus the taco) and frozen yogurt dabs. I shop at Trader Joes but you can modify the ingredients for where you shop. I will start with the yogurt dabs because they are embarrassingly easy and should be done first to be put in the freezer for a few hours. I hope you give these a try and let me know if you make changes that I can try out the next time I make this! 

Yogurt Dabs

Ingredients 

  • Trader joes non fat pomegranate Greek yogurt 
  • Trader joes non fat black raspberry Greek yogurt
  • Parchment paper

Take a tablespoon and scoop enough yogurt to cover the spoon, then use your finger to slide yogurt onto parchment paper. Carefully life the paper (might want to use two people for this) and place on freezer for a few hours, they freeze pretty quickly. Take off of parchment paper and enjoy! ..told you it was easy. 

Reduced guilt taco salad

Ingredients

  • Lean ground beef or ground turkey
  • Trader joes reduced guilt guacamole made with Greek yogurt
  • Light sour cream
  • Trader joes taco seasoning 
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Mexican blend cheese 
  • Salsa or tomatoes 

Place meat on the stove, once it starts to brown add 1/4 package of taco seasoning (if you like it very strong add more) Wash romaine and place in bowls while meat cooks. When meat is ready spoon over the lettuce, top with the sour cream, guacamole and cheese. I did not add the salsa on mine because with no gall bladder it’s hard for me to eat spicy foods right now but normally I would add chunky salsa as well. This is so easy and quick to make but satisfying, perfect for busy parents and students. Now eat up!  

 

4 thoughts on “Low fat dinner, happy tastebuds

Leave a Reply

